Skip to content

Only Worth a Piano?

2011/03/28

Right. I know. I kick off this daily sketch thing, miss a day right off the bat, post for like a second, & then it’s radio silence. Well here. I have been drawing but I’ve been really slow to get them scanned. Anywhere here’s the last couple days, as well as a quicky I’m going to count for today.

Firstly, Yoon Tae-Goo, the eponymous Weird from the Korean Western “The Good, The Bad, & The Weird.” Guy’s a badass & one of the most underrated characters in cinema within the past decade, if not longer. Can’t translate what he’s saying but I’m sure it’s akin to “freeze” or “get down” or something as such. I took a screencap & figured I’d throw that in as well for shits & giggles.

Secondly, I found this pretty cool picture of Gogol Bordello’s Eugene Hutz riding a drum out into the crowd of one of his shows. The image was so cool I decided to sketch it up. Kind of stopped caring by the time I got to the hands but I like how it turned out. I don’t usually sketch too many musicians. I really dig Gogol Bordello, but they’re not among my all-time favorites. Just such a cool image mostly.

Thirdly, this is a rough I did of a possible character idea I’ve been kicking around for Entervoid.com. Basically, A-ko meets Whitey Action; the superpowered daughter of two world renowned superheroes, who instead of following in their footsteps would rather just be a raucous party girl. But on account of her powers & shitty disposition, she breaks a lot of stuff. I’m thinking I might call her Alina. Drew up some thumbs & started developing back story & a supporting cast but it started getting a little nuts. Now I don’t know if I want to use her for Void, or just do something a little more grandiose with her. But I figured I’d do a quick look of her.

And Lastly, this was a ten minute sketch I did of a very generic man from a very generic eastern european country who just happens to be a part of a very generic gentlemen’s organization. I was mostly just trying to draw something a little cartoony, in a looser, quicker style than the stuff I normally do. The Kano-esque facial hair configuration given to him on a whim lead me to an occupation that just seemed to fit. He might show up in something again at some point, but don’t hold your breath.

While I have you, I just wanted to thank David Brothers for the link & kind words about the Tetsuo sketch this past week. Sorry I didn’t get to thank you until now, but I really appreciate it!

Ok. Going to go back to work on my comic pages a little more before going to bed. Later.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

