Skip to content

Post-Satellite Prosthetics

2010/06/04

This was sitting in my sketchbook for a while & I never got around to finishing it until recently. All that hair & arm detail was stuff that I figured I’d finish “at some point.” And ultimately I got a little carried away with the hair. Like the way the cape ended up. And the circuit/vein work-y bits.

I really love Akira. I mean more than most people love most things. I don’t even know why. Just punkass Japanese bikers & telekinetics & nuclear explosions really hit a chord I guess. Last I heard, all the talks of a live action adaptation fell by the wayside. There’s no need. And even the way the anime tries to compress all of the story, it comes off a little nonsensical at times despite looking really, really fucking pretty.

So this is from the scene after a laser blast from the satellite Sol lops off his arm & Tetsuo subconsciously fashions a new one out of bits of scrap metal telekinetically. See? Even just that explanation. I fuckin’ love Akira!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 2010/06/04 12:06 am

    Man, I am LOVING this stuff every day.

  2. 2010/06/04 10:34 am

    His hair came out fantastic! But really, you’ve won my heart with that metal hand.

  3. 2010/06/04 12:13 pm

    Thanks guys! I realize way too late that I made the wrong arm metal. Next time I’ll check for reference first haha

Leave a Reply

