Skip to content

Don’t Forget the Fabric Softener

2010/05/31

Cover to the Laundromat comic I’m restarting. Kind of loosely hoping to have it as a one-shot in time for NYCC. Pencils & a rough mockup of what’s going to end up happening as a giant front-loading washer looks as though it will descending out the clouds behind the title (probably give it more perspective when I do it proper). I really should ink it too. Not that there’s going to be a lot of shading or spot blacks or anything that you really ought to do when you ink, but I did this on bristol with all the trim & live area all lined out for me, & it’s picking up when I scan under the blue lead & shifting levels in photoshop just isn’t working. Ultimately, I was just trying to shoot for making it better than the original one which I did entirely digitally & cheated using photoshop to warp & skew all the perspective till it was just right. At the very least, the buildings are more complicated in this one.

As I post this, I’ve already loaded & scheduled(?)(!!) wordpress to unload the first week’s worth of daily sketches starting tonight after midnight or so. Might be like one. I don’t know how I have this thing rigged with Daylight’s savings & it seems an hour off now that I look at it. Anyway, yeah! Daily sketches are once again go! I’m starting off by giving myself a week’s worth of cushion, that way I don’t end up rushing to complete them last minute each night. You might consider that cheating. It probably is. But even so, screw you. It’s my blog, I’ll do what I want!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 2010/05/31 12:26 pm

    Love this! I’m starting to feel the itch as well. Gonna have to do a sketch a day of my own soon-ish.

  2. 2010/05/31 3:47 pm

    Hey!! You’re doing NYCC! I will see you there! I’ll be living in NYC by then.

    Love this fisheyed perspective, very nice.

  3. 2010/05/31 5:43 pm

    I *love* this, you don’t even understand how much I do! I’m really liking the look of this character, I can’t wait to see more of this.

  4. 2010/06/01 2:31 am

    Oh man, that’s such a goddamn appealing cover! I can’t stop looking at it and wondering about it, there’s something that rivets the attention there FOR SURE. Bloody beautiful, understated, moody, GREAT!

    Can’t wait to see how you ink it!

  5. 2010/06/01 10:32 pm

    Thanks a bunch, you guys!

    Morgan: DO IT! I’d love seeing that!
    Evan: NYCC’s really my local-est. I mean I guess Philly’s slightly closer but I always try to do NYC. SEE YOU THERE!!
    Melissa: I’m working on it. Slowly. But I’m working on it!! Sadly I think this is really one of only two city shots in it though & I know you dig those.
    Plok: I think the blue’s what’s making it moody. If anything it’s a light-hearted fight comic with black-eyes & property damage. Nothing too brooding. I think it’ll translate better in full color. Which at least the cover’ll get. Hopefully. At some point.

    Anyway, I really appreciate the feedback guys! Hope you keep checking back with the dailies!

  6. 2010/06/04 12:18 pm

    This is REALLY strong. Good work, man.

Leave a Reply

