Skip to content

Whenever a Deliverator Puts the Hammer Down, Shit Happens

2010/01/17

Admittedly, today was a bit of a bad day. I was hoping to get a lot done but I wasn’t getting much luck out of what I was doing. Like all the conditions were right but nothing was clicking; basically, a lot of floundering. Whenever I finally get some free time to work on something & I sit down to do so, it’s a real kick in the nuts when you can’t produce anything substantial. That includes sketches. Seriously, when that happens? It’s what really depresses me the most.

So after a bit of moping, I went out for a bit & took a ride to clear my head. While out & about, I stopped at a bookstore & saw them trying to push one of my favorite books: Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson. It’s close to 20 years old at this point & thoroughly cyberpunk by way of comic books (Seriously, to me, it reads much more like a comic than typical prose. Probably on account of the pace & the energy at times). I had been toying with the idea of translating descriptions of characters & scenes from that into sketches. So I kind of took it as an omen & started to do so. As I go back through the book, expect sketches. Maybe not each day, but most likely on the days I get a chapter or two in. No biggie.

So here’s Hiro Protagonist. No. Seriously. That’s his name. Better yet, this is him as he is first introduced to us. As ‘The Deliverator’, Hiro’s way too into his job as a pizza delivery boy. In a way, he kind of needs to be as part of the stipulations with a late pizza is imminent death. But at the same time, if what we’re reading is a third person account of how he sees himself, he’s one cheesy motherfucker. And seriously. A leather kimono? He’s profoundly nerdy. But seeing as he’s a hacker, it works in a way to kind of solidify him for me, having known nerds a lot like that.

Anyway, since he’s gotta sling pizzas at rapid speed, I took what they said about the armor into account & tried to mix it a bit with like a Nascar or Indy driver’s flame retardant get-up while incorporating the Cosa Nostra Pizza Logo & which credit cards are accepted embroidered on him. Couple that with the swords he takes to intimidate people into not starting shit with him & voila. The thing in his other hand by the way is supposed to be a helmet but I was getting lazy at that point & just wanted to finish up. I like how this turned out but I think my favorite touch is the smart boxes hissing steam to regulate the humidity of each pizza. But anyway, I like the way this turned out, but I think I’m going to have more fun drawing Y.T. tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dan permalink
    2010/01/18 1:02 pm

    All that pizza-environment control tech, and you still have to balance them level. You’d think they’d compensate for it, especially given how the odd mad dash has to be pretty common for their deliverators.

    Anyway, figured out the reference pretty quick, although it’d be hard to miss with all the branding if one’s read the book. Nice work!

  2. 2010/01/23 10:06 pm

    MAAAN, now I really feel like re-reading this book. RIGHT NOW. HP came out really good, I love your work here.

  3. 2010/01/27 11:02 am

    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

